Home

I admit I was a bit skeptical about this.

I’m all about learning to bake vegan goodies, gluten free stuff, sugar free, dairy free…

But as I perused the ingredients list for these flourless chocolate brownie cookies, I became keenly aware that what I was about to make was simple as simple and its main characters (apart from chocolate chips) were sugar and egg whites.

I write a food blog. I should not have a problem with meringues.

I also have a habit of deviating from the norm. And harbour a profound dislike of the meringue.

Oi, I also don’t like goat’s cheese or avocados, give me a break here. Besides, I pulled up my socks and looked at the bigger picture (choooocooolaaaate…) and made the cookies despite my childish misgivings on the meringue front.

I am SO glad I did. And so are you.

These things are dead easy to throw together, melt in your mouth, and taste like uber brownies.

All misgivings aside. Get ready for your new favourite bite of fabulousness.

Flourless Chocolate Brownie Cookies
Shamelessly pilfered from Creative Kitchen Adventures

Ingredients

  • 3 cups Icing sugar
  • 2/3 cup Unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 3 large Egg whites, room temperature
  • 1 tbsp Vanilla extract
  • 2 cups Chocolate chips, dark or milk

Method

Preheat the oven to 175C.In a large bowl, whisk together the sugar, cocoa powder, and salt.

Add the vanilla and stir in the egg whites until all the dry ingredients are moist. You’ll be putting your back into this, folks – which is fine because technically you earn yourself a few extra cookies at the other end of this process.

Add the chocolate chips and stir to incorporate evenly. The batter will be very thick and fudgy and will stick to everything. Like your fingers. Woe is you, eh?

Spoon the batter onto a lined cookie sheet in tablespoon size mounds, about an inch and a half apart (these guys spread) and pop the sheet into the fridge for about 5 minutes to let the mounds cool before baking – this will prevent ridiculous spreading while they bake.

Note the unfortunate state of my baking paper. See those three large chocolate cookie ghosts under the freshly laid cookies? That was my first attempt, on which I spooned out more than a tablespoon of batter and the resultant cookies were HUGE. Shame I’ll have to keep those three all to myself. Such a shame.

Oh. The. Shame.

ANYWAY! Bake the cookies for 14 minutes or until the tops are glossy and cracked.

Transfer the paper to a wire rack and let the cookies cool before attempting to remove them, and when you do, PEEL the cookies away from the paper. If you twist them off, as is my habit, you’ll lose bits of the chewy, chocolatey centre.

Side note: According to the source of this recipe, these gorgeous goodies can be considered gluten free as long as you’re careful to use gluten free choc chips. Bonus!

As one would expect from a meringue (let’s face it, that’s what these are – only SO MUCH BETTER), these are crispy round the edges and hopelessly chewy and toothsome towards the centre. If you serve them warm, you get a gentle zing of melty chocolate chips. And they look a bit classy, too.

You don’t have to be celiac to adore these.

You can detest meringues and yet adore these.

They’re the love child of a cookie and a brownie and there is everything to adore about that.

And they’re easy as anything to make.

I dares you.

Now then, I’ll be whipping up some absurdly healthy cookies for you next time.

Again with the no flour.

Again with the no butter.

Heck, there’s no added sugar to boot!

Most importantly though: Again with the deliciousness.

I promises you.

Until then…

Leave a Reply

