Home

Are you sitting down? Good.

I have another confession, and this one is much more embarrassing than a relatively common aversion to Valentines. Please, remain seated…

I have never, at least not as far back as I can cast my memory, baked cookies from scratch.

I. KNOW. But as I’ve mentioned previously, what baking I did get involved in, prior to my Born Again Oven Monster moment roughly a year ago, was purely box-based (add an egg and some oil, stir) and, in the case of cookies, pre-made dough, squeezed out of a roll and bunged onto a metal sheet – in fact, most of it got eaten before it ever saw the cookie sheet.

Since I’ve rediscovered baking, I’ve mainly been messing around with cupcake recipes, but when I agreed to bake for a Japan Tsunami fundraiser my friends organised last week, I thought that I should have a go at expanding my confectionery horizons (aaand the extra cupcake transport boxes I ordered were lost in the post… but that’s got nothing to do with it… honestly).

I started out by making some chocolatey goo bar things (more on those another time) then decided it was time to address the Cookie Issue. Chocolate chip cookies are, as far as I’m concerned, a sacred art form, and they need to be just right or they are utterly wasted on me, so I thought I’d save my quest on that front for another day. Then, I spotted a recipe for something like chocolate chip cookies – consider them the CCC’s very sexy cousin – posted by one of my foremost blogging and baking heros, Joy the Baker, and proceeded to shamelessly pilfer.

obligatory cookies and milk shot.

You’d better still be sitting down, my friends, for these espresso and white chocolate minxes will make you weak at the knees.

Cappuccino Cookies (all credit to Joy the Baker)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup Brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup Granulated sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Egg yolk
  • 2 tsps Vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cup Plain flour
  • 1 tsp Bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 3 tbsps Instant espresso or coffee powder (I used coffee, which gave the cookies espresso-flavoursed speckles… yes)
  • 1 cup White chocolate chunks (I just chopped up a 100g bar)

Place racks in the center and upper third of the oven and line two baking sheets with parchment paper (I get mine to stay in place with a spritz of cooking spray).  Set aside – you’ll preheat the oven after the dough has chilled.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, bicarb of soda, salt, and instant espresso powder.

dry ingredients.

In a larger bowl, beat together the butter and both sugars until light and fluffy.  Remember to scrape down the butter mixture with a rubber spatula.

Add the egg and egg yolk and beat until the mixture is fluffy again.

Add all the dry ingredients to the butter mixture.

Beat until just combined and gently fold in the chocolate chunks until evenly(ish) combined.

(whimper.)

Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 45 minutes.

** Cup of tea, fold some laundry, paint your toenails… what ever.**

NOW you may preheat the oven to 175C.

Scoop heaped tablespoons of cookie dough onto the prepared baking trays. (or use an ice cream scoop – I love my ice cream scoop, you’ll end up with bigger cookies, and will need to leave more space between cookies, so will end up doing more than one batch)

can i maybe eat them just like this, please?

Bake for about 12 minutes, until lightly brown at the edges.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool on the baking sheet for about ten minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

stand aside, these ones are all mine.

Store cookies in an airtight container. If there are any left.

I hope loads of people bought these beauties – my friends raised a lot of cash to donate to British Red Cross in aid of the people of Japan. Another group who are helping out are these folks – it’s a wonderful idea and a large number of food bloggers have come together to help out, but anyone can donate. Anyone… hint, hint.

Now then, I haven’t forgotten that I owe you some further chocolate cake alchemising (yes, that is a word) but I have also been inspired by my booze-inflicted sorry state last weekend, so I might just hit you with something quick, easy, and kind to those who’ve had a bit of a night before. We shall see.

Until then…

3 thoughts on “Coffee + cookies

  1. I am happy to tell, all the cupcakes found themselves a place in sombody’s tummy. only the cookies I decided to steal… I feel bad but I donated an extra 10 pounds out of my own pocket. BTW they were great!

    v

  2. Pingback: cookies for breakfast. « baking & alchemy

Leave a Reply

