Home

I’ve been having a weird week.

Each day has been sunny one minute, then pouring and thundering the next – I got drenched by a bus, and half an hour later, was wringing myself out in the warm sunshine – then my kitten had a cold, with sniffling, sneezing and all, and Friday was the final day of my job (new job starting Monday, crisis averted).

Adieu, week of weirdness.

Anyway, unsurprisingly, I woke up today really needing a hug. The kitten obliged for a bit, but then wanted breakfast, as did I.

I decided to make myself a food-shaped hug, minimal on the effort, maximal on the yum. Cue: a package of crescent roll dough.

The kind that you peel open and it pops.

That bit used to scare me and be my favourite bit when I was little.

I’m still little(ish), and I still love it. Fact.

I’d seen a ‘recipe’ for mini cinnamon rolls made out of this dough, and as I had all the ingredients hanging about, I decided to hug myself with tiny rolls of cinnamony goodness, with a twist – my jar of instant apple tea drink.

Alchemy alert.

Have a food-shaped hug, from me to you.

Ten Minute Apple Cinnamon Rolls
Adapted from Iowa Girl Eats

Ingredients

  • 1 tube Crescent roll dough
  • 2 tbsps butter, melted
  • Cinnamon
  • Instant apple drink or Brown sugar (or both – go nuts!)

Icing

  • 3/4 cup Icing sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp Milk
  • 1 tsp Vanilla exctract

Method

Preheat the oven as directed by the crescent roll dough package.

Unroll the dough up to four triangles, separate into two oblongs, and place side-by-side to make a square.

Pinch all the seams together, flip over and repeat.

Smooth the seams and brush the square with half the butter, melted.

Sprinkle with as much cinnamon and apple drink granules (and/or brown sugar) as desired.

Roll the square tightly into a log and cut into equal pieces, about 3/4″ thick.

Place the pieces into the cups of a greased (using the other half of the butter) mini muffin tin.

Bake according to the directions on the package – about 8-10minutes.

While the cinnamon rolls bake, mix together the icing sugar, milk, and vanilla. If the icing is too thick, gradually add a little more milk until it reaches the desired consistency – remember, once poured onto warm cinnamon rills it will soften and melt a bit.

I didn’t roll my dough tightly enough, and the cinnamon rolls got a bit carried away in the oven. a) This is what’s known  in the food bloggery world as a ‘rustic’ aesthetic, and b) their appearance will not stop them tasting HELLA good.

c) So there.

Finally, drizzle the icing over the warm cinnamon rolls.

And be happy. You won’t be able to help it, trust me.

A lightly browned, crispy surface, a sweet, buttery, moist and chewy inside… Icing on fingers, cinnamon on face… Happy. Just give in.

As with most food-shaped hugs, these are best served warm.

Now you’ll notice you have at least two dough triangles left. You could roll em up crescent stylee and get on with things, or you could poke about in the cupboards and fridge and realise that you could do so much more with this crescent roll dough. I was thinking cheese straws.
I mean, because… Well, obviously.

Parmesan and Chive Straws
Adapted from Joy the Baker

Ingredients

  • Remaining crescent roll dough (2-4 triangles)
  • Grated parmesan
  • Chives, either freshly chopped, or dried

Method

As before, pinch the seams of the dough together, flip and repeat.

Sprinkle with parmesan and chives.

Cut the dough lengthwise into thin strips, about 1/2″ wide.

Twist the strips, trying not to loose too much of the topping along the way (you can roll the twists in what’s fallen out before baking).

Arrange on a lightly greased baking sheet (or use baking paper – they will stick to the sheet otherwise) and bake according to the crescent roll dough package, about 8 minutes.

These guys are delicious warm, but just as scrummy after they’ve cooled off.

Breakfast and lunch, all from one roll of triangles. Win and win.

Pseudo baking: Don’t knock it – embrace it, and it shall embrace you right back, in a cheesy, cinnamony, warm, simply delicious sort of way.

Now then, I have laundry to hang, a flat to tidy, and a Sherlock box set to get back to. Oh yes.

THEN, I’ll line up my evil plans for those cookies I was teasing you about before.

I mean it this time.

Honest.

Anyway, you’ll see for yourself.

Until then…

Leave a Reply

